Sandboarding, skydiving and whatever is called my daily routine

My kilometer gage shows 110km. That is what I drove today. Even though it is only 10 kilometers from town to the dune. I never thought about this part of my job. Driving. Picking up tourists. Driving them to dune. Dropping them back at the hotel. It became routine long time ago. But it is an important part of my job. You should be careful how you’re driving. Don’t skip stop signs. Don’t start swearing if a taxi stopps right in the middle of the street to pick up another client. Or if the police car in front of you drives 20kph because he is on his phone. Keep calm. You have 7 people looking over your shoulder not missing any movement you are doing. Because they just met you. They are trying to get to know you. They shouldn’t get to know you about your driving style. Start chatting with them Where are you from? When did you arrive in Swakopmund. Do you like it? Where have you been in Namibia so far. What are you doing this afternoon? Sometimes I can’t. I’m over these same questions every day. Same answers everyday. But so try to get the conversation into a new direction. The drive to the dune will take at least 15 minutes after you picked up everybody. Can be a long time. Apparently long enough for the tourists to judge my driving. Had to people complaining at my boss about my driving. I’m driving too fast. Had a fun conversation with my boss about it. Not. But I am listening. Watching my speed now all the time. Not driving faster than 80kph on the tarred road. A maximum of 60kph on the gravel roads. Speed limit on both roads is a 100kph. Yes driving on gravel is as well part of my job. Not hitting the rock on the road. You’d better not going to get a flat tyre. Tyres are expensive. And the gravel road we are driving on isn’t always in best condition. But as I said, driving the tourists around became a daily routine. And in average it makes me driving every day between 30 and 40 kilometers. But today Beth send me on a road trip. Swakopmund is expanding. Since we are in the desert there isn’t really a limit on expanding. Yes on one side we have the dune belt, that is a set line. On the other side the ocean. But two the north and to the east is nothing but flat desert.

Mein Kilometerstand zeigt 110 Kilometer an. Das bin ich alles heute gefahren. Nur auf dem Weg Touristen abholen, zur Düne fahren und wieder absetzen. Obwohl es nur 10 Kilometer sind von Swakopmund bis zu unserer Düne. Ja über diesen Teil meiner Arbeit habe ich mir nie wirklich Gedanken gemacht. Über das Auto fahren. Es ist mittlerweile Routine. Aber es ist ein sehr essentieller Teil. Jeden Tag hinter dem Steuer zu sitzen während 7 Leute dir über die Schulter schauen. Da kannst du nicht fahren wie du willst. Diese Leute versuchen dich gerade kennenzulernen. Beim Stoppschild stehen bleiben. Nicht zu schimpfen wenn das Taxi vor dir mitten in der Straße stehen bleibt. Und auch ruhig bleiben wenn du hinter dem Polizeiauto fährst das mit 20kmh durch die Straße fährt, weil der Fahrer am Handy ist. Einfach ignorieren und weiterfahren. Und dann solltest du eine Unterhaltung mit deinen Kunden anfangen. Von wo kommt ihr? Wann seit ihr in Swakopmund angekommen? Wie gefällt es euch? Welche Route fahrt ihr durch Namibia? Immer dieselben Fragen. Ich muss sagen ich hab die ziemlich durch. Das erste Jahr habe ich es noch richtig durchgezogen. Jetzt muss ich mich dazu ringen eine Unterhaltung anzufangen. Zumindest manchmal. Wenn du diese Leute hast, denen du jedes Wort aus dem Hals ziehen musst. Macht nicht Spaß. Aber Unterhaltung ist Teil von meinem Job. Die Touristen zu unterhalten. Und ja wenn man am nördlichen Ende von Swakopmund abholen muss, dann ziehen sich die Kilometer bis zur Düne. Swakopmund dehnt sich immer mehr aus. Ja im Süden sind die Dünen und im Westen der Ozean, aber in die beiden anderen Richtungen ist nur endlose Weite. Flache Wüste. Da kann sich die Stadt fast unbegrenzt ausdehnen.

image

And if you have to pick up on the far north side of town and then in the campsite far east in the riverbed you collect kilometers. And adding to that I worked a double trip today, so went out in the afternoon again where I drove another 40 kilometers.
Whatsoever, just wanted to give you another perspective onto my daily work.

Und so wurde ich heute auf Roadtrip geschickt. Erst in Norden der Stadt und dann zum Campingplatz weit östlich im Flussbett. Und dazu die Tatsache, dass ich einen Doppeltrips arbeiten durfte, also vormittag und nachmittag, da komme ich im Ausnahmefall auf über 100 gefahrene Kilometer am Tag.

image

What else is happening? June was pretty quiet so that I could take that whole weekend off to do the climbing course. Working twice a week in the afternoon at the climbing wall. Getting slowly more people interested in it.

Was gibt es sonst noch zu berichten? Juni war recht ruhig, deshalb konnte ich letztes Wochenende frei nehmen und den Kletterkurs an Spitzkoppe absolvieren. 2 Nachmittage in der Woche arbeite ich in der Kletterhalle. So langsam gibt es immer mehr Interessenten.

image

And beside that I’ve been quiet often up in the air. Since I had the time and know that I won’t get a lot of free time in the next 2 months and busy season is starting.

Und neben dem bin ich recht oft in der Luft gewesen. Da ich die Zeit hatte und wusste, dass es in den nächsten Monaten eher enger wird, weil die Hochsaison anfängt.

image

Working on my flying skills.

So arbeite ich an meinen Flugfähigkeiten.

image

Working on the perfect exit. The perfect timing. If the exit isn’t good you will loose a lot of time getting together in the air instead of actually doing docks. So it is all about the right count on exit. See picture above.

Und am perfekten Exit. Das perfekte Timing. Sehr wichtig in der Luft, denn hier können wertvolle Sekunden verloren werden. Auf dem Foto oben kann man mich beim Countdown sehen.

image

And then doing sunset jumps. Sunset jumps are always amazing. Flying towards the setting sun.

Und dann habe ich einige Sprünge im Sonnenuntergang gemacht. Die sind immer die schönsten. Der untergehenden Sonne entgegen zu fliegen.

image

Bianca was flying behind me the other day. Filming my approach on the dropzone. Aiming for the smily, the landing zone. Overshooting a bit.

Bianca hat mich bei der Landung gefilmt. Ist hinter mir geflogen. Die Landezone vor mir. Der Smily als Ziel. Nur minimal darüber hinaus geschossen.

image

Before that we did a 3-way together with Ewert. I was the junior in that constellation. So doing the count from the inside of the plane while the others are hanging outside.

Davor haben wir einen Sprung zu dritt gemacht. Ich war diejenige mit den wenigsten Sprüngen. Deshalb musste ich vom Flugzeug inneren den Countdown machen während die anderen am Flugzeug hingen.

image

Did a good exit together. But then after letting go of each other and doing each a 360 degree turn I was gone. Or how Craig commented by watching the video later Bianca you need a wider lense to get Anne in the shot. Yeah that were my missing flying skills. Instead of turning on the spot, I lifted up and was 2 meters above them. You can only see my left leg. Craigs second comment was Anne you have to eat more. Commenting about the fact that I am falling to slow because I am too light.

War ein guter Exit. Allerdings nachdem wir uns losgelassen haben und jeder die 360 Grad Drehung gemacht haben war ich weg. Or wie Craig es beim Anschauen des Videos kommentierte: Bianca du brauchst einen größeren Weitwinkel um Anne auch ins Bild zu bekommen. Ja, da war ich plötzlich 2 Meter über ihr. Im Bild sieht man nur meinen linken Fuß. Fehlende Flugkünste. Muss daran noch arbeiten. Oder wie Craig meinte „iss mehr Anne“. Ich falle zu langsam, weil ich zu leicht bin.

image

But I kept on working in the air and we got together again.

Aber ich habe daran gearbeitet und bin mit den anderen wieder zusammen gekommen.

image

Obviously have to work on that to get more points next time.
And eat more.
So I’m off for lunch now.
Will eat a whole eland.

Daran muss ich arbeiten, damit wir das nächste mal mehr Punkte erreichen.
Und mehr essen.
Ich bin dann mal weg zum Mittagessen.
Werde eine ganze Eland Antilope verdrücken 😉

Kommentar verfassen

