When life comes into the desert

You know I actually never get sick. But sometimes I do get sick. And I really don’t like being sick. Especially if I don’t know why I am sick. I get seriously grumpy when I am sick like that. And then it always happens at worst time ever. Like now. Beth is on holiday. So I am running the company. Actually a fun time for me. I like having responsibility. Organising things. Making things work who don’t look like they will. It just fulfills me. Makes me happy.

image

But thursday morning I wake up with stomach cramps. Bad ones. Like I can’t sleep anymore. Can’t lie down. Can’t sit. Can’t walk. It hurts the whole time. But after having tuesday and wednesday off due to no tourists booked for sandboarding I have to work today because 14 people are waiting to get picked up, instructed, organised, fed and brought back to town. And no the boys won’t be able to manage that. Or actually at that stage I am still convinced that my cramps will go away as soon I get active. But nope. Driving to the dunes without talking to control the pain. Doing the briefing in front of everybody. Luckily they can’t see my eyes through my sunglasses. Telling Paulus that I will not carry a 5 liter water bottle to the top because I am physically not able to do it. Drag myself to the top while trying not to die. Yes I do have to exaggerate a bit. Because that’s how I felt. Getting to the top. Starting to talk to the clients. Not being able to finish because the cramps are too painful. Paulus takes over. Lying down in the sand. Closed eyes. Not moving for the next 2 hours. The boys can handle that. Getting up eventually. Throwing up behind the dune. Only camomile tea, since that is all that was in my stomach. Walking back to the car. Preparing the lunch table. Hiding in the car on my seat. Ignoring the clients coming down the dune. Waiting for the boys to direct them. Getting up eventually to talk to the clients a last time. Taking payments while sitting on the front seat. Driving in slow motion back to town. Dropping clients off. Crawling into bed.  Yeah and by that time Dawie comes along and drags me into his car. And to the hospital. Since it is a public holiday, Africa day, and everything else is closed. The worst thing is that I have no idea where it comes from. Nothing wrong I ate. Or drank. Or inhaled. Or whatever. Well the doctor comes in and asks a few questions. Then decides that it is a bad stomach bug which is going through town at the moment. A relief for me. Getting the drip on and the pain is getting less. I lay 4 hours on the hospital bed. The cramps are not gone after that, but at least I can’t deal with the pain again. Going home. Next morning up again. Working mode. 16 people. Another trip in the afternoon. Yes guys, I got this. Falling dead into bed at 7pm. Saturday, up again. Stomach is still cramping. 18 people. Pick ups of hell. Got used to it. Body is on working mode. Soup and toast for dinner. Didn’t eat anything else since 3 days. Drinking only camomile tea. I’ll get over it. Waking up on sunday. Waking up hungry! Think I am no longer sick. Eating toast with cheese for breakfast. Pushing it. Working again. Even bringing my board up the dune to board myself. 2 runs. Hungry at lunchtime again. Definitely not sick anymore. Can we braai please? I need meat!

image

Organising the crowd. Including dogs.

image

Into the riverbed.

image

Where the Swakop river months back filled a hole with water. Where the construction companys used to get sand out of the riverbed. A huge dam arose. The river dried out. The dam was left. And is still there.

image

You can clearly see that the water used to be higher.

image

It is drying out quick. Leaving behind this scene of dried out land. Breaking mud pieces.

image

Amazing playground for the dogs.

image

And myself. With the camera. I love these dry pieces of mud. You just walk funny on them. I guess they are not made to walk barefoot on them.

image

But keep your eyes open. That’s when you will find the small things in life which makes you happy. Like this one. It just shows how amazing nature is. I love it.

image

Walking a bit further brings us to this spot. The opposite of the beautiful small things in life. I just have to ask: WHY?

image

Desiree and me decide to turn around. Not the ground to walk barefoot on. Or to have dogs running over it. Let’s hike up.

image

Beautiful riverbed. Moonlandscape. However you wanna call it.

image

I think it is too green to compare it with landscape on the moon.

image

And has too much water.

image

But I agree with you. It is stunning. There is definitely no such thing as too much beauty.
I love this place.
Namibia.

Kommentar verfassen

