That thing about skydiving

I know most of you don’t get it. Why we jump out of airplanes. Again and again. And not strapped to an instructor. No, jumping with your own parachute on the back. Jumping with other solo jumpers at the same time. Trying to build formations in the sky. In these 30 seconds we have before we pull the parachute. And none of us skydivers can explain to you that feeling in the air. The reason why we do it again and again. You have to try it yourself to understand us.

image

Every jump is special. Every jump gives you adrenalin kick. On every jump you have to focus for your landing. And as your feet touch the ground you turn around to your buddy and shout „thanks for that awesome jump!“

image

There are no enemies in the sky. Only other fun jumpers. That’s how they call us. Because we are jumping for fun. The other people in the plane are tandem masters and camera men. They jump for work. We jump for fun. And sometimes we all jump together – for fun. Because it is fun jumping together.

image

That was one of the most beautiful jumps I did judging the scenery. A sun set jump. I mean I am falling I don’t really pay attention to the sky or the ground. I focus on the other people around me falling with 200kph through the air. But once the parachute is open. Wow. That’s why I am hanging longer in the air. I don’t spiral down most of the times. I hang under my parachute. Look at the horizon and keep smiling.

image

This jump I did mid of April. Together with Jens. For us he is only Ouki. If you are not convinced if you should start skydiving or not you should meet him. You never gonna get away from it next to him. He is always super excited. And he always just had his best jump ever. Even if you didn’t finish all the points in the air you planned to. He shows you that every jump is worth it.

image

But I mean look at this. Yes, I wasn’t supposed to drift that far away while doing a 360 degree turn. But look at the footage he got from me because of that. Just so stunning.

image

And once I opened the parachute. I only looked at the horizon. Flying towards the sun. Amazing!

image

And just as the sun disappeared at the horizon we are coming in for landing. All happy smily faces.

In the air as well there is no language barrier. Everywhere in the world we use the same signs in the air. I jumped with russians before. There English was, well, good enough to understand that we all spoke about the same thing. Skydiving.

image

And then there was that spanish guy last week at the dropzone. He is an instructor. He listened to what I did wrong on the jump before and briefed me for the next jump he would do with me, just to work on my skills. His English was as well not the best. But we could communicate. And I did better on this jump. And I had fun. Most importantly. He smiled halfway through the jump. I need that. A bit more motivation while I am working in the air.
And here an other jump. Dawie volunteered to jump with these two yellow dressed blond girls out of the plane. You can see us both focusing on exit for the count down.

image

And then the dive out. My least favorite part. I am a pro on doing back flips just after exit.

image

Presentation into the wind only works for me after two seconds.

image

But this time I actually do stay stable.

image

But I just never get to Dawie and Des. I am jumping my new jumpsuit which I won on the competition. Costume made jumpsuit. I love it. But I have to learn to fly with it.

image

That is closest I got to them.

image

At least the two yellow suns in the sky got in a picture together.

image

And then had to track away.  I was a bit disappointed. Because I didn’t make what I was supposed to do. But that is part of skydiving. A learning process. There will always be something new you can learn. That’s why we keep jumping.

P.S. Ouki? Let’s do a jump 😉

Kommentar verfassen

