Spitzkoppe after raining season

If I get asked what my favorite place in Namibia is I always said Spitzkoppe. I’ve only been there once. Right at the beginning of my stay in Namibia. It was september. In the end of dry season. In the middle of a draught in southern africa. But it was a very unique experience. I hiked/climbed Spitzkoppe up to the top. In the middle of the night. With my friends. I will never forget that moment when I arrived up there and the sun just came up on the horizon. Undescribable.

Wenn ich gefragt werde was mein Lieblingsplatz in Namibia ist antworte ich immer mit Spitzkoppe. Obwohl ich erst einmal dort war. Im September 2015. Die Gefühle die ich damals hatte als ich oben auf dem Berg stand sind unbeschreiblich.

image

Yes it was definitely time to go back there. And since I wasn’t very successful in finding a birthday present for Dawie I decided to organise a short trip as a surprise. All his friends kept quiet and not all could arrange to come with, but the usual ones were on the trip. We packed everything in the cars, went to airport and picked him up from work. He gives me his altimeter and tells me he needs to go buy new batteries. Well that has time, we are not going back to town.

Deshalb war es definitiv Zeit dorthin zurück zu gehen. Und da ich nicht sehr erfolgreich darin war Dawie ein Geburtstagsgeschenk zu finden, habe ich mich für einen Kurz Trip entschieden. Gleich nach der Arbeit haben wir ihn abgeholt und in das Auto gesetzt. Völlig unwissend findet er sich plötzlich auf dem Weg nach Spitzkoppe wieder.

image

We arrive at Spitzkoppe around lunch time. Decided to take the campsite at the climbing wall. I was fascinated from the beauty of the scenery. And it is so green. You would probably say you don’t see any green in this landscape but for someone who lives in the desert this landscape is amazingly green. The lushy green grass. The trees filled with buds. And just all these green plants growing out of the rocks. Impressive.

Um die Mittagszeit erreichen wir „das Matterhorn Namibias“, so wie Spitzkoppe auch genannt wird. Ich bin beeindruckt von der atemberaubenden Landschaft. Es ist alles so grün. Ihr werdet die Landschaft wohl eher als braun bezeichnen, aber für jemanden der in der Wüste lebt ist diese Landschaft wirklich grün. Saftig grünes Gras. Bäume voller Knospen. Und einfach überall kämpfen die Pflanzen sich aus dem Fels hervor.

image

After a short discussion if we will climb or actually if I trust myself to lead climb this route we set up the climbing area. Yes normally Bones is the one lead climbing the routes. But he is still working and beside him I am the only one who did it before. It was an easy route in the riverbed which I lead climbed. And already months back. If I still remember everything what to do? But I like challenges, so who is going to belay me?

Nach einer kurzen Diskussion ob wir klettern wollen oder eigentlich darüber ob ich mich traue diese Wand im Vorstieg zu klettern oder nicht bringen wir die Kletterausrüstung an die Wand. Ja normalerweise macht Bones den Vorstieg, er muss aber noch arbeiten. Und außer ihm bin ich die einzige von uns die schon mal den Vorstieg geklettert ist. Aber das war im Flussbett. An einer von mir schon oft erklimmten Route. Aber was solls. Ich mag Herausforderungen, also los geht’s!

image

There are 4 meters to go to the first hook up point. Means I will have to get there without falling since I won’t be secured that first part. Once my right foot slips. Dawie and Peter took a deep breath, but I could hold myself. And from then on I was more relaxed. There is a green plant growing out of the rock. Short comment from my side before I focus again on my next step. A few minutes later Dawie replies on it „you just stepped on the only plant along this wall, but don’t worry just keep climbing.“ Really? Well done Anne.

Es sind etwa 4 Meter bis zum ersten Haken. Heißt bis ich mich dort einhänge bin ich nicht gesichert. Nur einmal rutsche ich mit dem Fuß ab, kann mich aber gerade noch halten. Sobald ich die erste Hürde geschafft habe bin ich viel entspannter. Kommentiere die kleine Pflanze die aus dem Felsen herauswächst. Und kurz darauf unwissend zertrete.

image

It is exhausting but eventually I get up there. And wow what a view. Stunning.

Es ist wirklich anstrengend, aber schlussendlich bin ich oben. Atemberaubende Aussicht.

image

Now I just to get the rope through the two anchor points at the top and the route is ready to get climbed from the others.

Und jetzt ist die Route vorbereitet und die anderen können auch klettern.

image

It is a very nice, chilled afternoon. It is not too hot, clouds are blocking the sun. Enough time to climb for everyone. I get the chance as well to climb the route from a more difficult side.

Es ist ein sehr entspannter Nachmittag. Nicht zu heiß, Wolken verstecken die Sonne. Viel Zeit für jeden an der Wand. Auch ich wage mich erneut hinauf, an einer schwereren Seite.

image

For the sunset we go to the rock pools. And what a surprise there is indeed water in the pool. Amazing. There was no drop of water when I was here the last time.

Zum Sonnenuntergang gehen wir zu den Fels Pools. Und dort ist tatsächlich Wasser drin. Erstaunlich.

image

The pool is filled with tadpoles. Peter catches one. Or two…

Der Poll ist voll mit Kaulquappen.

image

I am just happy being here right now.

Ich bin einfach nur glücklich.

image

Look at these pictures. Nothing to add to it.

Schaut euch diese Bilder an. Da gibt es nicht hinzuzufügen.

image

Beautiful sunset.

Wunderschöner Sonnenuntergang.

image

Back at the camp it is time for me to prepare the crayfish. Yes we are about 160km away from the coast. But we brought crayfish!

Zurück im Camp ist es Zeit die Langusten vorzubereiten. Ja wir sind 160km von der Küste entfernt. Aber wir haben Langusten dabei!

image

As soon as the stars come up I try to get them with my lense.

Sobald die Sterne erscheinen versuche ich sie mit meiner Kamera einzufangen.

image

Interesting capture of the sky with clouds in between.

Interessanter Fang mit den Wolken dazwischen.

image

Do you know what happens if you work with an exposure of 30 minutes? You can see how the stars are moving.

Wisst ihr was passiert wenn man eine Langzeitbelichtung von 30 Minuten einstellt? Man kann sehen wie die Sterne sich bewegen.

image

The night becomes very clear so that we wake up the next morning to a beautiful blue sky.

In der Nacht klart der Himmel auf, so dass wir am nächsten Morgen bei Vogelgezwitscher unter blauem Himmel aufwachen.

image

And goodbye. See you next time 😉

Auf Wiedersehen und bis zum nächsten Mal! 😉

Kommentar verfassen

