It feels like home

I am sitting on my bed covered in a blanket looking at the misty sky. Yes I am back. Back home. It does feel like home. But only since today. We had a whole week of sun, heat and sand storms. I left Germany on a warm spring day and expected getting cold in Swakop due to the cold coastal weather. But the weather turned it up site down. A heatwave hit Swakop with strong Eastwind for a couple of days. My second day back at work I was fighting in a sandstorm at temperatures somewhere over 40 degrees in the desert. Yes it was a heat shock for my body. Wasn’t so easy do deal with it. It was nice to chill out at night at not getting cold.

Jana ich bin wieder zurück. Zurück im kalten Swakopmund. Es hat aber eine Woche gebraucht um anzukommen. Vor allem des Wetters wegen. Ich bin in eine Hitzewelle gefallen. Von warmen Frühlingstagen in Stuttgart in die glühende Hitze der Wüste. Sandstürme und Temperaturen über 40 Grad machten mir am zweiten Arbeitstag zu schaffen. 

image

But yesterday night when I walked back home I saw the fog. I could feel it. He was hanging deep in town. Almost couldn’t see the street lights.

Aber gestern abend kam der Nebel zurück. Als ich nachts heimgelaufen bin konnte ich es fühlen. Die kühle Luft. Die Feuchtigkeit in der Luft spüren. Der Nebel hing tief. Ich konnte die Straßenlampen kaum erkennen.

image

Sunday we went to the dam. The Swakop river was flowing for a couple of days when I was gone. It didn’t reach the ocean but he came close to the Swakop. And left us now a little lake behind. We call it the dam. I wanted to check it out. I put a message on the whatsapp group crayfish braai at the dam. No time. No specific place (the dam is big). But no one asked questions. Or replied to it. People just show up. Whenever they are done working. And feel like it. That’s what I like about my group of friends here. It so easy. Uncomplicated.

Sonntag waren wir am „dam“. Übersetzt würde es Staudamm heißen, aber hier wird nichts wirklich gestaut. Als ich Deutschland war ist der Swakop Fluss für einige Tage geflossen. Er kam nicht ganz bis in Ozean aber war nicht so weit weg von Swakopmund. Und dort wo die Bauunternehmen Sand aus dem Flussbett nehmen hat sich ein See gebildet. Oder gestaut. Wieauchimmer. Wasauchimmer. Ich will da hin. Ach was rede ich. Ich gehe da hin. Langusten grillen. Wer mit will kommt mit.

image

I went into the dam. Swam a bit. To the island. Enjoyed the warm water. Mudd between my toes. The sun on my skin. Fresh air in my nose. That’s Africa for me.

Ich bin im Wasser geschwommen. Im Schlamm versunken. Schlamm zwischen den Zehen. Die Sonne auf meiner Haut. Frische Luft in der Nase. Das ist Afrika für mich.

image

And thanks to Dawie and Peter who caught in the last days a lot of crayfish in the ocean we could have a whole meal only eating delicious crayfish.

Dank an Peter und Dawie, dass wir so viele Langusten hatten um eine ganze Mahlzeit daraus zubereiten konnten.

image

Beeing back means as well beeing the only woman between the guys. That’s probably why the friendship is uncomplicated. Most of the times. It is no question who is preparing the crayfish. Cutting it open. Mixing the garlic butter. Putting everything on the crayfish. And it is me as well telling the guys that they should not go out tonight. I might have added a bit too much garlic to it. But there is no such thing as too much garlic they taught me. Oh and by the way since they old switched to drinking beer out of cans since cans take less space in your rubbish bag than bottles how are we creating the braai? Luckily I finished three savannas before we started braaing. Just enough to build a braai. That’s why I stick to the savanna in a bottle.

Köstlich diese frischen Meeresfrüchte. Mit etwas Knoblauch Butter, chilli und Zitronensaft werden die Langusten zu einem der feinsten Gerichte die ich mir vorstellen kann.

image

If you read tomorrow in the newspaper that they found crayfish at the dam, don’t go diving in the water. It might have been us. Leaving a bit for the jackals and other animals living in these rough conditions.

Wenn ihr morgen in den Nachrichten lest, dass Langusten im See gefunden wurden geh nicht tauchen. Es könnten unsere gewesen sein. Deren Überreste wir für Schakale und andere Tiere die in diesen harschen Bedingungen leben übrig gelassen haben.

image

I enjoyed it so much. The afternoon at the dam. Eating freshly caught delicious seafood prepared by myself.

Ich habe es so sehr genossen. Diesen Nachmittag hier draußen. Frisch gefangene Meeresfrüchte selbst zubereitet und verzehrt.

Kommentar verfassen

