The day after the rain

I wake up today by hearing something. Something what sounds like rain. But that’s not possible, that it still rains. So what it is. I open my curtains. And stay speechless.

image

Beautiful sunrise. No rain. But strong wind. And the wind rattling through the palm tree leaves sounds like rain drops falling onto the earth. But look at the palm tree. The wind is coming from the east! Eastwind right after a rain? Eastwind right after a thunderstorm?

image

I am confused. But excited about the lights this morning. Stunning. By checking Facebook I get reminded on what happened last night. On the magic night. Everybody, seriously everybody commented on the weather yesterday. Only in Africa.

image

But life continues. Outside of social media. So let’s go to work. Beth are we going out today? „I don’t know.“ Well don’t ask me again to make a decision, because I never experienced that before. Lightening, thunderstorm and Eastwind the next day. Especially because the sky is clear on Eastwind days. No clouds, only dust and sand. But that are rain clouds. „Me neither! I never ever had that before!“ But you live here since 21 years!
Ok, sorry. I will make a decision. Let’s go out and check it out.

image

Beth and me arrive first on the dune. Before the equipment car arrives. Both of us are so focused on the different appearance of the dune due to the last night’s rain, that we don’t even realise the missing black spot. I wish I took my camera with. But in the same time, I am happy that I did not. Look at the dune! Do you see that the dune is dry on top because the wind is so strong and drys it quick? Yes, I see.

image

And the sand down here looks like mud. Nothing like our soft dune sand.
Paulus arrives. He and Uwe get total excited out of the car. „Did you see the jump?“ Did we see what? Oh the-. Both of us turn around and see – nothing. The jump isn’t there anymore. And Beth and I didn’t realise it. Wow.

image

We start the trip. Beth decides to do the whole briefing down at the cars. Paulus starts walking up. I walk just after him. With 3 lie down boards. And a backpack. Almost 10kg. Luckily. Because as soon as I reach the ridge, I can’t continue. The wind is too strong. I can’t stand up there. Can’t hold the boards. I am in the middle of a sandstorm. Paulus and I communicate nonverbal about the fact that we cancel the trip. And try to get down safely. Easier said than done. Zak come on!

image

That little spot there is me with my car. There is nothing wrong with the quality of this picture, there is just so much sand in the air, that you can’t see anything.

image

Back in town, I take a rest with Crowli. That walk up was more exhausting than any other one I ever did. I am busy house and cat sitting again. Desirée is gone to Joburg. And left me her 5 cats. Even though she says she only has 2. Because she doesn’t count these three who are been fed outside but sleep in the house.

image

I am too late for sunset even though I don’t remember what I did all day long.

image

I remember, I wrote the other article. The one about yesterday. It was a long one.

image

Good night!

image

Kommentar verfassen

