My daily life in Swakop

Yes I know, it’s again two weeks since I published my last article. At one side I had some private issues why I didn’t felt like writing and on the other side there wasn’t really a lot happening. I mean, it’s more or less every day the same. But just because you guys wanted to hear from me and because my mom wants to see some pictures with me on them, I will tell you what was happening in Swakop for the last weeks.
I get up at 7:30 am, have cornflakes with milk and a cup of tea as breakfast before I walk into the workshop at 8:30 am before everyone else. I pack all the boots and boards. The rest is up to the guys, but before we leave I check that we didn’t forget anything. Then let’s jump in the car and pick up the clients. French, Suisse, Norwegian, German, Chinese, Russian, Italian, American – it doesn’t matter, wherever they come from I will find a prejudice they approve. But no I am not racist, I just deal with different nationalities every single day, so you kind of get to know them. Don’t be offended, I need to joke sometimes 😉
So what next? Talk to the clients and explain why they have to walk up the Dune and why I did not built a lift for them.

image

I give out boots and boards and trust me, I know which board is good for you!
„But I ride a 162 in snow“
Good for you, but you take the 158 because we go for shorter ones sand! Got it?

image

I pack a 5 liter water bottle in my bag, grab my equipment and head up the dune.

image

On top it’s time to show how to wax the board and yes I said every time, you have to wax your board every time before you go down.

image

I stand up there, all eyes on me while I explain how to sandboard.

image

Before I help them to close the bindings

image

and send them down the slope. In partner work with my boss. And no she is still not my mother, didn’t you just ask me if I am from Germany because of my German accent and what about her American accent? But yeah it’s really funny, we often have the same shirts on, even though we do not plan that.

image

I show them how to turn the board,

image

how to jump (unless you are better than me),

image

and how to land the jump.

image

Yes you might get sandy, but it is a lot of fun and I can help you to get over it.

image

I take kids to the skiing school on a smaller slope. These two are 5 and 7 years old.

image

Or board with them down the big slope if they are brave enough.

image

I change the pace and switch to lie down boarding. Send them down.

image

Go with them

image

Or go together with my buddy Zak.

image

In between I hang out it the sun and try to look good on video. Because yes I get filmed every day at work. Every day. My boss watches the video every day which means even if she wasn’t on the trip, she still knows what I’ve done. So you’d better try to look good.

image

Or chill with the dog.

image

Before it’s time to transport all the backpacks down the slope.

image

And walk back to the cars.

image

To have lunch. And still being filmed. While putting a Brötchen in your mouth.

image

After dropping off the clients we unpack the cars and are done. So what now? If we don’t have an afternoon trip, we done before 2 pm (unless I had to drop off clients in the next town walvis bay which is 35 km away). So it’s time to go the beach, walk Zak, go to the dropzone, have a braai, go surfing – moment I haven’t been surfing since november, shame. But what else? Oh yeah I did a fatbike tour, that was fun!

image

With Fatbikes through the dunes.

image

Other than that – wait for my next adventure, it’s coming soon 😉

Kommentar verfassen

