Road trip to the desert

While we are hiding in the car, a herd of springbokies passes just in front of us.

image

We look through the front window and feel like watching TV. As soon as the herd reached the next Campsite two Oryx walk past.

image

Amazing. I love the Namibian wildlife. It’s so original. Animals who are not surrounded by fences from a national park. Animals who are totally free. But decide to cross our Campsite. And don’t care about the sandstorm which is howling over us. „I’m so relaxed right now. I could sit here for longer.“ says Tamara while we are sitting next to each other in our little VW Polo and staring out of the window. Yes relaxed is the right word to describe my feelings for the day. It was an amazing day.

image

I climbed early in the morning Big Daddy the big Dune behind Deadvlei. It was an exhausting climb. But it was worth to do it.

image

The view from up there was amazing and the sunrise stunning!

image

And you always feel special if you are the first person who climbs a mountain/Dune. Or let’s say: I do!

image

Up there I feel free. I can’t see anyone. Only sand. Dunes. And sand. All over the place. It’s so high, that the people down in Deadvlei look like ants.

image

For me time to go down and back to Tamara, who is waiting for me.

image

We leave the Valley behind us

image

and continue driving to Dune 45. My special wish. To go sandboarding in the Sossusvlei/Sesriem National Park. Yes I know, it is forbidden, but no one climbs that Dune at 10 o’clock. So no one except Tamara will see me boarding down.

image

And I’m so proud of her that she comes with me up there.

image

She is my personal photographer and takes pictures of me while I am fighting in the red sand.

image

But it was so much fun!

image

On the way back to the Campsite I had to stopp the car, because some ostriches were crossing the road.

image

Back on my mattress I could watch a rain cloud passing us. It looked amazing. But unfortunately it did not rain over us. We would have appreciated that, because of the heat here in the desert.

image

Tamara, my swiss friend from Ghana, visits me for two weeks in total and I took three days off to make a road trip to the Namib Desert with her. We started yesterday with a wonderful drive from Swakop to Sesriem.

image

The road was the total opposite of boring.

image

And the sunset in the camp stunning. Like all namibian sunsets.

image

I expect the same today. Not the same sunset, because every sunset is different. But the same way of beauty.

2 Gedanken zu “Road trip to the desert

Kommentar verfassen

